Hello World!

As this is my very first blog posting, and since I am a computer programmer, I thought it would be fitting to greet you, one and all, with the universal programming phrase “Hello World”, a simple yet, under the circumstances, surprisingly appropriate greeting.

You see, we of the 21st century can no longer think of ourselves as mere citizens of our local communities or nations. We are all fast becoming citizens of a wired world, as scary or exciting as that prospect may be. I confess that I hesitated in joining this digital global village for as long as I could, for various personal reasons. But I have come to realize that my resistance was like trying to hold back the wind; it was never going to succeed. Resistance, as they say, is futile.

So, after lingering on the sidelines, this slow starter finally greets you. And although I may never get to know you, you can get to know a bit about me through these entries. I hope you will find these thoughts, observations, and writings somewhat uplifting, perhaps informative, and maybe even entertaining. I ask only that you keep in mind that I am no more an expert on life, the universe, and everything than anyone else, and that my views are my own. If you disagree with me, I respect that. If you feel the urge to judge me, do so kindly. And if you enjoy what you read here, then I am pleased.

About wordswithbrad

Let's see. I guess first and foremost I am a life wanderer on a journey of discovery and experience. Can you tell I am a child of the sixties? Along the way I have become many things ... a College Professor (now retired after 28 wonderful years), a writer of both fiction and nonfiction, a singer/songwriter, a musician, an artist, a world traveler, a fan of science fiction and history, and a student of human nature. But my greatest accomplishments are being father to two of the most amazing and accomplished young men I have ever known, and husband to the incredible and delightful woman who made that possible.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hello World!

  1. wolfnowl says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere! So happy to have you here to play with us!!

    Love,
    Mike.

  2. Pam says:

    So….here I am, finally! Better late than never as they say! Lots to catch up on. I think I’ll be like Marc, and start learning things about you that I never knew. Love what I see and read so far, congrats!
    Does this mean you will now join the Twitter generation too?
    Love
    Pam

Leave a Reply

