I Pray For Justice

I find myself saddened and outraged beyond words by the tragic events of the last two days. The deaths of two more innocent souls at the bloodied hands of over-zealous, ruthless, trigger-happy cops has me at a loss for anything to say about it.

But the sounds of panic in the voice of the police officer who fired the shots at Philando Castile sent chills down my spine. It was as if he was motivated not by police duty but by fear to do what he did. But fear of what? A peaceful man driving his girlfriend and her young daughter through town? It goes deeper… much deeper.

The followup retaliatory violence in the streets of Dallas has now added to the horror. As always, suspicion, fear, and hatred have bred more of the same. I’m at a loss to think of what might be done. Instead, I pray for the loved ones and friends of those two dead black men and five dead police officers. As justice continues its downward spiral I pray for us all. And for all those directly affected by this unfolding tragedy, I pray for justice.

About wordswithbrad

Let's see. I guess first and foremost I am a life wanderer on a journey of discovery and experience. Can you tell I am a child of the sixties? Along the way I have become many things ... a College Professor (now retired after 28 wonderful years), a writer of both fiction and nonfiction, a singer/songwriter, a musician, an artist, a world traveler, a fan of science fiction and history, and a student of human nature. But my greatest accomplishments are being father to two of the most amazing and accomplished young men I have ever known, and husband to the incredible and delightful woman who made that possible.
This entry was posted in Justice, Uncategorized, Violence and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

